About Somerville Open Studios

Somerville Open Studios (SOS) is a non-profit organization formed for the purpose of producing an annual open studio and related events in Somerville, Massachusetts.

Through its programming, SOS gives access to the work of visual artists living and working in the city of Somerville. We provide opportunities to view art made within the community; to interact with local artists; and to have access to artists' working spaces. Our goal is to broaden the public's exposure to, and appreciation of, finished works of art as well as the art-making process. This exposure both educates the community and raises awareness of the diverse artistic experience available in Somerville.

Somerville Open Studios is managed by a Board of Directors comprised of participating artists. An Open Studios executive committee is formed each year to organize the event. This committee is assisted by many dedicated volunteers. New volunteers are always welcome. Please contact us if you would like to become involved!

2016 SOS Visitor Information

Vistitor Information

2016 SOS Event Coordinator

Gena Folts

2016 SOS Volunteer Staff

Coordinator's Assistant

Ryan Haas (Intern)

Coordinator's Advisor

Ellien Laramee-Byers (Mad Oyster Studios)

Volunteer Coordinator

Christina Tedesco (Mad Oyster Studios)

Artists' Choice Show

Mara Brod (Vernon Street) — Exhibit and Reception Coordinator

Family and Kids' Event

Elena Clamen (Home Studio) — Kids' Show coordinator
Kelly Richter (SOS supporter) — Kids' Show assistance


Gena Folts (Coordinator) — Mapbook design, layout

Inside-Out Gallery Exhibit

Nancy Anderson (Mad Oyster Studios) — Exhibit Coordinator


Margaret DeMille (Artisan's Asylum) — Marketing Coordinator
Jesa Damora (Artisan's Asylum) — Marketing Advisor
Nancy Anderson (Mad Oyster Studios)
Cira Louise Brown (Artisan's Asylum) — Social Media assistance


Nancy Anderson (Mad Oyster Studios) — Membership Coordinator
Aaron Ellerbee (Community Space) — Community Space Coordinator
Ellen Ellerbee (Community Space) — Community Space Coordinator
Stan Eichner (Community Space) — Community Space Advisor
Sarah Carlson (home studio) — Home Studio Advisor
Jennifer Swanson Downes (home studio) — Home Studio Advisor
Jeff Fullerton (home studio) — Home Studio Advisor

Publication Distribution

Christina Tedesco (Mad Oyster Studios) — Mapbook Distribution
Matt Kaliner (SOS Supporter) — Poster Distribution

Special Projects

Suzanne Lubeck (Vernon Street) — Honk! Parade
Ellien Laramee-Byers (Mad Oyster Studios) — Honk! Parade
Hilary Scott (home studio) — Honk! Parade
Johanna Finnegan-Topitzer , Nancy Anderson - Last Wed Salon Series


Suzanne Lubeck (Vernon Street) — Sponsorship Coordinator
Emily Garfield (Artisan's Asylum) — Ad Graphics

Volunteer Show

Gretchen Graham (Washington Street Studios & Gallery) — Exhibit Coordinator
Melissa London (Community Space) — Exhibit Assistant

Website and Databases

Aram Comjean (SOS supporter) — Webmaster
Ron Newman (SOS supporter) — Site QA, Website and Database Assistance

2015/2016 SOS Board of Directors

Suzanne Lubeck (Vernon Street) — President
Nick Shectman (SOS Supporter) — Treasurer
Terry Dovidio (home studio) — Clerk

Peter Belford (Vernon Street)
Aram Comjean (SOS Supporter)
Stan Eichner (Community Space)
Emily Garfield (Artisan's Asylum)
John Olson (SOS Supporter)
Hilary Scott (home studio)
Christina Tedesco (Mad Oyster Studios)